Skip to content
Durham Counts — Durham, in numbers.Local help →

Durham · England

People and living standards

County Durham council area. Every figure carries its own date.

County Durham

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

County Durham local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 501,488 in 1991 to 539,146 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

County Durham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 498,930 people in 1996; 539,146 people in 2025. 8.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — County Durham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991501,488
1992501,608
1993501,270
1994500,924
1995499,927
1996498,930
1997498,533
1998496,945
1999496,096
2000495,138
2001493,678
2002493,538
2003493,931
2004495,147
2005497,218
2006499,348
2007502,960
2008505,617
2009507,311
2010510,628
2011512,994
2012513,122
2013513,179
2014513,604
2015513,924
2016514,431
2017515,911
2018516,648
2019518,562
2020519,204
2021521,447
2022527,377
2023533,311
2024536,793
2025539,146
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

County Durham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 100,074 people in 1996; 86,955 people in 2025. 13.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — County Durham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991100,280
1992100,934
1993101,820
1994101,970
1995101,049
1996100,074
199799,312
199898,384
199997,067
200095,895
200194,192
200292,632
200391,755
200490,722
200590,098
200689,438
200789,044
200888,512
200987,865
201087,855
201188,160
201288,280
201387,902
201487,682
201587,612
201687,841
201788,473
201888,865
201988,662
202088,321
202188,004
202288,010
202387,964
202487,811
202586,955
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

County Durham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 318,711 people in 1996; 331,794 people in 2025. 4.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — County Durham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991322,570
1992321,605
1993320,174
1994319,375
1995318,995
1996318,711
1997318,979
1998318,086
1999318,360
2000318,145
2001317,758
2002318,339
2003318,713
2004320,378
2005322,379
2006324,577
2007327,780
2008329,751
2009330,368
2010331,665
2011331,820
2012328,360
2013326,436
2014324,694
2015323,269
2016321,728
2017321,250
2018319,963
2019320,342
2020320,466
2021321,448
2022325,598
2023329,646
2024330,927
2025331,794
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

County Durham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 80,145 people in 1996; 120,397 people in 2025. 50.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — County Durham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199178,638
199279,069
199379,276
199479,579
199579,883
199680,145
199780,242
199880,475
199980,669
200081,098
200181,728
200282,567
200383,463
200484,047
200584,741
200685,333
200786,136
200887,354
200989,078
201091,108
201193,014
201296,482
201398,841
2014101,228
2015103,043
2016104,862
2017106,188
2018107,820
2019109,558
2020110,417
2021111,995
2022113,769
2023115,701
2024118,055
2025120,397
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 522,067 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · County Durham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh7,8341.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,7400.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,9490.9%
White505,47196.8%
Other ethnic group2,0730.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 513,242 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · County Durham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White503,76998.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,0940.6%
Asian/Asian British4,8560.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British7010.1%
Other ethnic group8220.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 493,470 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · County Durham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White488,38199%
Mixed1,5710.3%
Asian/Asian British1,6770.3%
Black/Black British4010.1%
Chinese/Other1,4400.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 22% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

County Durham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,034 per person in 1997; £20,261 per person in 2024. 124.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — County Durham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,034
19989,208
19999,574
200010,030
200110,462
200210,579
200310,855
200411,385
200511,604
200611,950
200712,206
200812,453
200912,879
201013,242
201113,325
201213,815
201314,216
201414,676
201515,276
201615,426
201715,742
201816,180
201916,652
202016,838
202117,318
202217,944
202319,080
202420,261
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

County Durham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -14.9% in 1997; -22% in 2024. 7.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — County Durham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-14.9
1998-15
1999-15.4
2000-15.7
2001-15.4
2002-16.4
2003-16.7
2004-16.1
2005-17.5
2006-18.4
2007-20.5
2008-20.9
2009-19.6
2010-18
2011-18.2
2012-18.2
2013-18.8
2014-18.8
2015-19.7
2016-19.9
2017-20.1
2018-20.7
2019-21
2020-19.8
2021-20.7
2022-21.9
2023-22
2024-22
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

21.8%

21 March 2021 · County Durham local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.9%

21 March 2021 · County Durham local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.5%

21 March 2021 · County Durham local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£140,000

July 2026 · County Durham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£650

August 2026 · County Durham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.